• Home
  • Chen Award Recipient 2013

Chen Award Recipients

2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 |2008

Chen Award for Distinguished Academic Achievement in Human Genetic and Genomic Research (2013)

Yoshihide Hayashizaki, Japan
RIKEN Omics Science Center

Yoshihide Hayashizaki received his M.D. and Ph.D. from Osaka University Medical School in 1982 and 1986, respectively. In 1992, he joined RIKEN, and was appointed Project Director for the RIKEN Genome Project in 1995. Since then he has taken a data-driven approach to analyze transcriptomes by developing unique technologies including a series of full-length cDNA technologies. With this approach, he has established large amount of full-length cDNA clone bank. This activity was followed by an international consortium, FANTOM (Functional Annotation of Mammalian Genome), originally to annotate a large number of cDNA and subsequently expanded to transcriptome and network analysis. FANTOM activities revealed that more than 63% of the genome – not just the ~1.5% fraction that are protein-coding exons – is transcribed as RNA. From 2008 he is leading the Omics Science Center as the director to advance our understanding of biological phenomena as systems at the molecular level.


Chen New Investigator Award (2013)

Patrick Tan, Singapore
Genome Institute of Singapore

Dr. Patrick Tan holds a joint appointment as a Group Leader at the Genome Institute of Singapore and Professor at the Duke-NUS Graduate Medical School. He is also Senior Principal Investigator at the Cancer Science Institute of Singapore, National University of Singapore and Research Associate Professor in the Institute of Genome Sciences and Policy at Duke University, USA. His research focuses on the application of genomics to cancer and infectious disease. He received his B.A. (summa cum laude) from Harvard University and MD PhD degree from Stanford University, where he received the Charles Yanofsky prize for Most Outstanding Graduate Thesis in Physics, Biology or Chemistry. Other honors include the President’s Scholarship, Loke Cheng Kim foundation scholarship, Young Scientist Award (A-STAR), Singapore Youth Award (twice), Singhealth Investigator Excellence Award, Han-Mo Koo Memorial Lectureship (Van Andel Research Institute, USA) and Swee Liew Wadsworth Lectureship (NUS). He is a member of the Bioethics Advisory Committee (BAC), a national body that provides advice to the Singapore government on ethical issues related to biomedical research.

© 2019 Human Genome Organisation. All rights reserved.